Up We Go!

 

Day 5: Plywood and other debris from the roof.

Monday morning.

OK. So Monday, I caught you up on the Wicked Weather of Halloween and progress thus far. On Monday, it was showtime, as we had like 8 or 9 guys working on the house. Because rain was forecasted, they focused on building the walls, wrapping them in Tyvek, then tarping the house. That was actually a good plan, as it did rain. We did actually have a leak (our first) but it was really, really tiny. That’s right, I don’t sleep well anymore, because I was up at 3am and just “happened” to hear it. It lasted all of 45 minutes, no major damage. Thank goodness!

Tuesday we went from 0 to 100 in one day. From no second story to “hey, where’d that come from?!?!”. Seriously. Check the photos below.

Wednesday, they put plywood in place for the roof, did some other stuff (not sure, I was painting all day), and then waited until dark to tarp the house. Whoops.

Thursday, Mother Nature the Big Ol’ B showed back up with 25 mph winds. No work was done today. The tarps are shredded. No lie. They. Are. Worthless. The upside of this is that, supposedly, we’re supposed to get our roofing materials delivered on Friday at 7am (sure……) and the roofers are supposed to roof the part of the 2nd story that has been completed. Right…..I’ll believe it when we see it. This is happening so fast!!

Did I mention that when they tarped the house on Wednesday, we had to shut off the main furnace? Oh yeah, that’s awesome. It’s 61 degrees in the bedroom, no heat. It was even more awesome having them not work today…another day of a freezing house. No matter, though, we had the kerosene heater in the garage going (not for my comfort, mind you, but so that the paint could dry. I was reminded of that multiple times. Thanks.)

Keep in mind, nothing is being done inside of the new 2nd floor….once they get it under roof, they may put in the windows in, and then they’ll start on the section over the library (old garage). That’s the section between what just went up and the (blue) garage. All the inside stuff will happen after the major demolition is complete.

Wambulance

Meanwhile, I’m painting. Priming/sealing the backside of the cedar shake boards; then spraying and rolling the shingle side with that gorgeous blue (Benjamin Moore Blue Note). We’re using the “Ben” Exterior paint. Oh, and if I wasn’t just loving this painting crap, I just found out that I have to paint all the cedar trim, too. Somebody call the Wambulance, I’m having a meltdown and my hands hurt. Waah.

Enjoy the photos!

About Janet Vrasic

Hey! I'm Janet. I'm not a writer by trade, but this unique opportunity has presented itself....so here we go. Moving back into one's childhood home isn't something that happens every day. So as we work to redesign our new home, I'll be documenting and photographing the changes as we drag this 1958 ranch house into a modern home. Plus, you'll get updates on our 3 dogs, the Spice Girls. And other random things!
This entry was posted in Exterior Remodel, Phase II: Going Up and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Up We Go!

  1. Alisa meggitt says:

    Crash bang boom
    This is going up FAST!!

  2. Debbie Watson says:

    Holy cow! Amazing it is going up that fast. Keep on painting, girl!

Leave a comment